The Kent Historical Society Museum will hold its annual Victorian Holiday Open House, free to the public, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday, December 5 at 237 E. Main St. Visitors can make holiday crafts, enjoy hot cocoa while decorating gingerbread cookies or listen to a performance by the KSU Men's Chorus from noon to 1 pm. Children and adults alike will enjoy the guided tours of the museum exhibits, including the featured Davey and Kent: Growing Together since 1880 which will end December 19, 2015. Everyone will love the model train display highlighting some of Kent's most iconic buildings and a version of the A&GW/Erie yards and the P&O canal (complete with a lock and dam). The Historical Society is also reorganizing its Library this year and will offer free books to members of the community who may want them.
This documentary produced by the KHS is a short historical overview depicting the building blocks of the Kent community, from its Franklin Mills origins to the eventual renaming of the city to Kent. The video illustrates the importance of the Cuyahoga River and the economic impact it had on the city. We get a brief view of the individuals that built the industries, mills, the canal and eventually the railroad. We find out that John Brown lived and briefly worked in Kent and that Kent was a stop on the underground railroad. The video brings us up to date with the businesses of today and ending with the growth of the Kent Normal School into what eventually became Kent State University.